Hello!

Welcome aboard.


219 responses to “Hello!

  • haruspical

    Please test the theme and display and suggest improvements

  • Reader

    This is good. Needs some improvements though. Shall be back soon…

  • Reader

    I suggest:

    Need a self-edit or delete facility for each comment for the commenter.

    is there a facility for embedding videos?

  • Renate

    Is there a response to comments?

    Or is everyone lined up vertically according to time posted?

  • Reader

    Renate,

    Do you think we need the reply thing? That staggers the comments becoming smaller and smaller in width… may be it is need for reference

  • Reader

    Renate,

    The time posted is also not right. Its 0500 PM local time in my PC… it’s set to the server I think…

  • Renate

    I don’t know if we need it. It made things complicated.

    But simply lining comments up will preclude a lot of potentially interesting spinoffs.

  • Reader

    Hmmm.. you are right.. what about corrections?

  • Renate

    What about corrections?

  • Reader

    I think if the comments are numbered that should help in corrections…

  • Renate

    See – now I would like to answer to your time comment…..

    Suits me fine if its your local time, it’s the same as mine.

    But so far it seems to only count the hours, not minutes

  • Reader

    Shall mail the admin. Unable to contact him. 1. Facility for corrections 2. Number the comments.

  • Reader

    I asked him not to track the commenters. I think thats why it is not registering any information like time, router etc.

  • Renate

    You asked for it… hehe…

  • Renate

    But I can see it right here!

  • Renate

    I think it is not necessary to enable a reply to a reply, like Sharmila has, but a string of replies seems important to me.

  • Reader

    Lets see if Aishwarya get this message:

    Aishwarya:

    If you find this. This is an experiment. Uncontrolled meandering. A site for complete free speech. No ID tracking. No moderation. No email records nothing!

  • Renate

    I would like to see the exact time of everyone’s comment tracked. Surely that is no breach of privacy, if you are concerned about that.

  • Reader

    MonaLisa,

    If you have reached. Try putting up a video from your location. Thats one thing that must work at all costs..

  • Reader

    Theres one thing that is not working for me. The notify me or follow-up comments… !!! 😦

  • Renate

    So, do I get to remove my own comments now?

  • Renate

    I just saw the RSS and notify about comments.

    I clicked on it but then what?

  • Renate

    Well, we already got a myriad different conversations going on. And that’s just you and me.

  • Renate

    No.
    I checked the RSS box, nbut there seems to be no command that executes it.

    • Reader

      It cannot be done on a blog site. The new platform that they are designing will allow edit or delete your own comments plus direct messages to another if you don not want your comment to be seen by all.

      The designers will take their own time I guess.

    • Renate

      I see.

      This is just an interim, where we define our desires???

      Haha, that sounds funny.
      Don’t take me too seriously, I am lightheaded after a night of scant and broken sleep. Shall be alright around coffee No.4.

  • Renate

    ok

    I received three emails about activating the RSS.

    The first one works, the second on says not activated.

    Will go play with them and then report.

  • Renate

    Hey!

    This is not an RSS, it all shows up in my email??

    That might clog it up a bit too much.

  • Reader

    I am cutting an onion while typing this.. so don;t mind the errors.. can barely see through the tears…

    • Renate

      And I’m sipping coffee, as fast as it goes in.

      Is there going to be an RSS option?
      This too much for my email, I want it in a separate box.

    • Renate

      Reader,

      Stop crying and get on with the program. It seems you need to do some damage control with MonaLisa.

  • Renate

    Thanks, Jacques, I hope you will find it.

    And my compliments for this site. It’s fun and I love experimenting.

  • Reader

    Did you notice the width allows the youtube window to fully display. Thats cool. And the ads can be closed if there are translations.

  • Renate

    Jacques, are you playing hide and seek?

  • Reader

    I’ll wait for her here.

  • Renate

    Oh boy.

    Butting heads already?

  • Reader

    MonaLisa,

    Both the links work. Only post the url.

  • Renate

    Reader,

    I hate to say this, but so far I find this more confusing than Sharmila’s site.

    It may be that I am not used to it.

    It may be that no proper sleep all night has done a job on my brain.

    Who knows… 🙂

    • Renate

      Yes, that’s what i do now and it seems to work most of the time. Reader, what went wrong with my Atlantis song? I could see it perfectly from here.

    • Reader

      I’ll need to get used to it too. It’s only our first day. We’ll improve on it as we go forward. We can change the entire theme if we wish. Go for a bright color.

  • Reader

    One more thing I notice: MonaLisa’s links displaced the window and opened in its place. Links that do not open here must open in a new window.

  • Renate

    MonaLisa’s videos which only show up as links here, are perfectly embedded in the emails that I receive.

  • Reader

    Renate,

    The Atlantis song violated Sony copyrights for the region. Only for US audiences probably. There may be another one that plays in ME.

  • Renate

    So, is this going on and on as a long string? Or will you interrupt it occasionally?

    I see, that because it is in wordpress format, there has to be a post, and the original “Hello” is it.

  • MonaLisa

    Hmm…I need to zoom my page 150% or I have to buy glasses to read.. 🙂
    Can we have more contrast or its just me need to adjust this…
    Video didn’t work..I tried to put it both ways…Am I making any mistake..!?
    Totally lost on time it posts with comment..
    Need some colors & pics…empty walls don’t look pretty..
    or change the color of walls…it looks like total black out..in front of my eyes…or do I need to get my eyes checked…!? 😦
    Hope Reader will play now..”Catch me if you can” with more enthusiasm…lol.. gosh…! I need to be all geared up..or I will lose…the track of him…hehehe…he will find you Mona..! Right Reader…!!!!?? 🙂

    • Reader

      MonaLisa,

      Post only the url of the song. http://etc that plays. Copy the url from the address line on the top of the screen.

      We have a choice about the theme. We can make a brighter one. All white or some other color in the back ground.

      The 150% is necessary on laptops. It is very big on normal monitors.

      I’ll find you. One day. Some day.

  • MonaLisa

    Reader…
    If you noticed I tried to post it both ways URL & embeded code…none work then…
    Well…about the theme… choice is yours…but what if we try some lighter background with colored fonts..!? if not we can come back to basic anytime…
    Hmmm…you have to fine me only if I lose you…which I am not planning to… 🙂
    But that’s so sweet of you….to say so.. 🙂

    • Reader

      MonaLisa,

      Lets try a new theme tomorrow. Do you think we should have a post on top to begin with? Or just begin with guuuuuuuuuuuuudddddd Mmmmmmmaaaaaaaawwnnnnnnnnnnniiiiinnnnnnnn ?

    • Renate

      Not a bad idea, the guuuuuuuuuuuuudddddd Mmmmmmmaaaaaaaawwnnnnnnnnnnniiiiinnnnnnnn.

      Only catch – you will have to do it about five times a day if you want to catch up with the times, so to speak.. 🙂

    • Renate

      I’ll have to make sure from now on only to shower in the Niagara Falls! Nothing else will save you when I sing.

  • MonaLisa

    Ok Guys…catch up with you later…
    Good night …Reader…
    seems like I have to bid Good Night to Renate today… 🙂

  • Renate

    Darn, I can’t sleep…..

  • Reader

    MonaLisa,

    I’d say a desire is an expectation from a process.

    • MonaLisa

      Reader…
      What process…!? Thought process or some more involved into it..!?
      You defined it in a very broad spectrum…narrow it down to your own….lol…
      like…
      what are your desires…how do you define them…and at what level…!? 🙂

    • Reader

      A desire is an expectation from any process. The process may be apparent or abstract.

      Speaking for myself, it is not necessary for me to have a desire to begin or complete a process. Most of the times I am studying the process itself. So, the outcome is not a desire.

      A desire is not an instrument for trading.

    • Renate

      Can you really define desire in such abstract terms?

      I have lots of desires, ranging from losing ten pounds or increase my collection of AB CDs all the way to seeing my children do well in life (according to their desires).

      Can all of those fit into your definition?

    • Reader

      Renate,

      That’s simple. Check it out.

      Name the desire. See if it is an expectation. Ask what is the process.

      All of them fall into the definition of the concept. The most difficult part is coming up with a perfect defining concept for a perception.

      Are all the parameters included? Are the observations conditional? Are the measurements taken in an ideal state? Are there any exceptions? Are exceptions permissible? Etc

      Those are the kind of decisions that require careful examination of the philosophical premises governing the phenomenon that cause the perception.

  • MonaLisa

    The thing I purposefully not posted on Mr.Nandy’s previous blog…makes me laugh so much….
    Can”t believe Mr.nanady…went rhetoric about Blue Frogging with Natalie Portman…! lol…! C’mon…! Never knew…he would be interested in a pregnant lady…! omg…! 🙂

    • Reader

      I don’t know who is Natalie Portman but I am sure Nandy writes entirely for readership and tries to reach as wide an audience as he can. That’s part of his upbringing as a journalist. He can never speak for himself. He’ll believe whatever his readers would like him to believe.

  • MonaLisa

    Reader…
    How could one begin with anything any process with/in absence of desire…? Desire is the drive …entire world is running on it…

    • Reader

      MonaLisa,

      A woman was trying to open a tin can and could not figure out how to do it. So she went through the help manual. By the time she had learnt it, her assistant had already opened the can.

      She asked him, “How did you do it?”

      He replied,”Lady, when you don’t know how to read, you have to use your intelligence!”

      ===

      Desires, as I said, are of two types, subjective and objective.

      To study or discover or learn is a subjective desire. We study for the probable and admit imperfection.

      To work for an objective desire is to be caught in a neurotic trap. The process may or may not deliver. It’s like an infidel husband expecting fidelity from his wife. An illogical desire that is created by a process called institutionalized marriage.

  • MonaLisa

    Reader…
    Can’t believe writers write just for ratings…
    I thought it otherway around… never knew readers-masses can govern a writer…or pollute the thought process of the writer…

    • Reader

      MonaLisa,

      Nandy is not a writer. He is a journalist.

      Be careful when you conceptualize a perception. There is a specific rule on how to do that.

      Perceptions are measurable. They have units and scales.

      Like, an object moves at so many miles in an hour is a perception.

      The concept is called Speed. The concept of speed is defined as rate of change of distance.

      To convert a perception into a concept, the measuring units are taken out and only the principle is retained. Now speed can kilometers per hour or miles per second or meters per minute or whatever.

      Nandy is a journalist is a perception.

      A journalist primarily reports his facts and findings from the real world of his readers.

      A writer creates an ideal world based on the facts and findings.

      Nandy is not capable of the latter.

    • MonaLisa

      Reader…
      Thats where the discrimination power of one’s mind and intellect plays role…to help deciding right and wrong,good and bad…etc
      If so…there shall be a set format of right and wrong…good and bad…however many times we notice that good for one might not be as good as the other…and what seems bad is really not that bad…same applies to right and wrong… why..!?

    • Reader

      MonaLisa,

      A theory or a dissertation is tested before it is firmed up. As learners we test it again and prove it ourselves.

      Once that is done, we move on and use it. What’s the point in fooling around with it just to fake freedom?

  • Reader

    I am leaving for office. Shall log in from there.

  • MonaLisa

    Reader…
    🙂 Thank you for reminding me how I am…! hahaha….just like that lady…!
    Natalie Portman won Oscar in Best actress category for movie “Black Swan” this eve…
    Witers and journalists are two separate categories…one creates sensation by their creativity..the other sell the sensation…

  • Renate

    I guess this white background is easier on the eyes, but a lot less classy, don’t you agree?

    • Reader

      I liked the balck background too. The videos displayed well. But as you say this is calmer on the eyes.

    • Renate

      So, is that our first poll?

      Which background to adopt?

      I read in the wordpress rules that black and white were the only options. Too bad, I’d love to see a new color each day.

      Or mood, imagine if we all had the power to change the color according to our mood. Could turn out quite interesting….

  • MonaLisa

    Renate…
    is it white..!? seems light gray to me..
    I am not sure how many color combos are available…
    You suggest if you have something in your mind…

  • Renate

    Is it only me, or are the letters in the comment box much lager while I write them, and once they are posted they shrink?

  • MonaLisa

    Are we talking..or am I the only one in here..!?

  • Reader

    The letters in the text box are larger when we type and shrunk in the display.

    I don’t know if we can have different colors as background. I believe we can. There is a CSS interface for that. Only we need to know the digital code of the color.

  • Renate

    Reader, if you are still taking suggestions…..

    I would love to see the exact time of posting each comment.

    Only giving the hours is completely meaningless and confusing.

    Seeing the minutes will help immensely someone who comes into an ongoing conversation that’s already at multiple levels and wants to join.

    I came in late today and I still am trying to figure out what MonaLisa and you were talking about.

    • Reader

      This page will evolve as we go. All suggestions will be tried and tested. If it works fine. If not, I’ll feed it to the developers of the new platform.

  • MonaLisa

    Hmm…I guess majority wins…if both of you find it boring..you change it.
    yep..letters shrink as you noticed..Renate

  • Renate

    Hooray, Reader, the RSS kicked in! Thank you!!

    Now do I have to unsubscribe from the mail or is it replacing?

    I guess I can just wait and the question will answer itself.

  • Reader

    I found the RSS for both the site entries and the comments is at the bottom of the screen.

    I prefer the email because it can be tapped on any PC either in office or on the laptop. The RSS does not seem to work on another PC.

    • Renate

      I vastly prefer the RSS. My email gets too clogged up with this otherwise.

      As we say in Kölle: Jede Jeck es anders.

      Every fool is different.

    • Reader

      I propose, lets get used to this. We’ll change it once we get bored.

      Ruin it for all its worth, what say?

    • Renate

      Right now boredom is not my problem, I feel like a rat in a maze trying to find all the treats cleverly hidden in obscure corners.

    • Reader

      Thats good in a way. Only those who are interested will patiently find the precious notes amidts the human aspects of these discussion.

  • MonaLisa

    O boy…! these long pauses make me yawn…so much…
    gotta go…
    You guys carry on…have a good one…
    catch ya tomorrow…

    Now my desire to sleep is driving me to bed…! I don’t know how Reader performs anything without desire….

    • Renate

      Good Night, MonaLisa!

      I’m sure he desires sleep as much as we do at times.. 🙂

    • Reader

      Gud Nayt MonaLisa,

      You are feeling sleepy.. it’s not a desire to sleep..

      Do you know why children fall asleep when they hear grandma’s stories or a lullaby…? Because they are boring! 🙂

      That’s not a desire to sleep…

    • Reader

      Renate,

      I don’t use the word ‘desire’ like that because I don’t have a better one for higher concepts.

      I’ll say “I want to sleep” or “I must sleep”…

      I would use “Desire to sleep” to mean sleeping with a woman to fulfill the desire for sex.

    • Renate

      Well, no, Reader, that’s not a desire for sleep that’s a desire for sex!

      Do you differentiate in your definitions between things that I can not control, or at least not to a certain degree, and things that I could or should be able to influence, like the desire for sex?

    • Reader

      Renate,

      Thats my point about the concept called “desire”…

      If I say, “I have slept with that woman!” would you understand that I shared the same bed to sleep peacefully or I had sex with the woman?

      “Desire” is essentially a higher complex concept. A complex concept is one that is entirely derived from simpler concepts. A simple concept is one that is derived from perceptions.

      Defining concepts is a very tough call. I take weeks or months sometimes to define one that meets all my understanding.

      My method is: Make a perceptual statement. Test it for conformance under different contexts. Do not permit exceptions. Build on the necessary terms only. Ignore what is good, nice-to-have or aesthetic.

    • Renate

      Do you think it is necessary and important, or even possible to define ‘everything’ down to a level of that precision?

    • Reader

      Renate,

      Yes. I think it is important. I can live by imitating the world like a mirror or I can have my own precise opinions.

      It’s a choice. Not necessary, but important for me.

    • Renate

      Yes, Reader, I accept that.

      Does it have the effect of making your life more slow and deliberate and less eventful than “imitating the mirror”?

      I don’t know really, if this is a good question, I am too tired to judge right now.

      If you want to answer it, I shall read the answer tomorrow.

      Have a great day, will ya?? 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Reader

      It certainly makes life different.

      For instance,

      I travel business class. Many of my colleagues travel economy to accommodate the cost of tickets for wife and children.

      The illogical question that some people ask is, “Do you live alone so you can travel business class and have fun?”

      It’s illogical because I travelled by road and rail when I took my parents around the country in India.

      It’s not only about the mirroring behaviors, it’s also about values. I can have my own or I can mirror them.

      At least if I have my own no one can say there is nobody in the house.

      If everyone in the neighborhood is out knocking on everyone else’s door, all houses will be empty.

    • Renate

      What is illogical about the question?

  • MonaLisa

    Now I wonder…who’s a grandma here…hahaha 🙂

    • Reader

      I am prepared to call myself a grandpa if you call yourself an infant.. 🙂

    • MonaLisa

      Reader…
      seems like you enjoy hearing it very often from my side that “I am an infant in front of you…! But do I have to call you Grandpa..now…!? That would be awfully formal and would change entire scenario… 😦
      I have no desire to change anything right now…its good as is… 🙂
      Now I remember a song you posted some time ago…hmm..let me see if I can find out…

    • MonaLisa

      Reader…!for you…

    • Reader

      What an amazing song… I wish you were able to understand the Urdu in that…

  • Renate

    The RSS is 30 min behind real time.

    The email is faster, but I still have no idea whether I unsubscribed only to the posts or also the comments.

  • Renate

    I almost swallowed my whole little laptop just now yawning.

    I must make up for a night lost to cricket and blogging.

    Good Night Reader, hold the fort until we wake up.

    Or get some work done.. your choice.. perhaps.. 😛

  • Reader

    Don’t worry. I’ll be okay. I am an Indian. I come from a nation that has been lawless for the past 5000 years. I know how to survive in this.

    Feel sorry for the people who go on a stampede like a thoughtless herd.

    Governance is not a service. There can be no negotiations between givers and receivers. Beggars are not choosers.

    Less than 1 in a million understands the human nature of politics.

    Sad.

    This is the age of envy when consumerism is fueled by information technology.

    I am glad I can stand back and watch this orchestra of parrots.

  • MonaLisa

    Hello…ppl…Good Morning…
    Anything wrong..with.. Reader…!?
    So..where were we…last night…!?

  • MonaLisa

    Are we playing Hide and seek again..!? Where you hiding..!? 😦
    Where do I find you..!?
    Now where am I gonna hide..!? pheeewwww….
    It was fun today at the gym…feel so energetic…! 🙂

  • MonaLisa

    So…don’t make me come in there…It will be a knock out…hehehe…! show up..! will yaa..!?
    1………
    2…………..
    3……………….
    c’mon now….!!!!!out of your closet…!!!! I won’t wait any longer…!

  • Reader

    Monalisa,

    Hi. I am fine. The city has been tense all day. Nothing spectacular. Protests against corruption and nepotism. Nothing unusual for us Indians. A few burning cars on the road and an entire hypermarket gutted.

    I feel as if I am back home in India.

  • MonaLisa

    Reader…
    Great…! now you won’t miss India…
    Heard about Lybia…not aware of anything happening at your place…

  • MonaLisa

    Lol…Reader…
    From Where to where did you take my “Desire to sleep last night”….O..man..! 🙂

  • MonaLisa

    Reader..
    How do I find recent comments posted without going through entire page?
    How do I find any response posted to my comments without searching for every comment..!?

    • Reader

      I like the wide space on this. May be try a change in the theme and see you suggest?

      I don’t think we’ll be content with anyone theme. There will always be something missing in each. Lets try anyway.

  • Renate

    Wow.. THAT color says something…

    I’m just not quite sure what.. 😛

    Let’s leave it like this for a while.

    Unless someone has eye troubles ..??

    • MonaLisa

      Reader…
      The larger psace in here is great…not discontent or displeased with anything…just asking if such facility is available or not…about different themes and combos you have better idea…what is what..

  • MonaLisa

    Lol…Renate…
    I do…! You got me on that… 🙂

  • MonaLisa

    Reader….
    This reminds me of “Autumn”….more… than spring. We have spring around the corner….find something suitable…a suitable shade of color….not too dark…not too catchy…but bit soothing for eye sight…unless you planned to kick me out in few minutes every time log on…or wish me to go blind…!hahahaha….
    🙂

  • MonaLisa

    Good Morning…Reader…
    Wake up…! What’s wrong with you…!? You lost your punctuality…! We shall stop pampering you now on.. 😦

  • MonaLisa

    🙂
    Now this looks like just My Space…! 🙂

    • Reader

      Guuuuuudddddd Mmmmmmaaaaaaaawwwwwwwnnnniiiiiiiiin

    • Reader

      Did you notice the photos changed on the next page? Da Vinci was only a decoy.

    • Renate

      Of course we did.

      I commented on it too.

      Why do you mention it here, in the old post?

      You are wearing my fingers out, following you all over the place!

      Oh, yes, a Good Morning to you!!!!

  • Renate

    Hi Sharmila,

    Glad you found us! 🙂

Leave a comment